Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Day 19 - Now: The Course, The Wagon, and The By-Week

Turns out, this is a lot harder than I expected. I mean, I eat decently around 70% of the time I would say. But eating properly 95% of the time is so hard. Especially when things happen. I'm an emotional eater and I think the fact I can admit that is something to celebrate.

I had my personal training course this last weekend. And while it was challenging physically (hello lack of sleep and driving across Calgary) it was hard mentally, and surprisingly spiritually. The instructor Andrea, is hands down, one of the most interesting people I have ever met. I feel blessed to have gotten the opportunity to meet her and be included in her class. She challenged each of us. I learnt so much more than just personal training this weekend. I feel like this weekend has set me on a path to self discovery. I have always been a spiritual person. I have always loved the hippie things like reiki. I feel like this is going to be a big change for me. I feel it already. Looking at yourself in a mirror is hard. It's hard to admit what you're doing is wrong, or even what you're doing is mean. I hope to start this journey to myself, and maybe document what happens on here.

Otherwise, not much has changed, I'm taking a by-week with rest and relaxation. I need to recharge my batteries. I always forget about how important rest is. I am bad at that. I need to get my rest. I need to recharge and stretch. It's such an important part of any healthy lifestyle and I totally forgot about that. I was focused on something totally different. Now I am going to learn to take rest days, enjoy them and not stress about having some time off (or for that matter, time at home with my kid)

-Bailey

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Days 17 & 18: Drinking and Dancing

This weekend has been a crazy crazy weekend. Maybe just because I know I'm going back to work so I want to try to get stuff done before I am working again. Or maybe it was just crazy in my mind.

Saturday night, I went to celebrate a friends upcoming wedding with pasta, and drinking. I am NOT a big drinker. At all. Like barely drink. So this was a challenge.

We hit up one of my favourite pasta restaurants in Edmonton, and I managed to attempt to be healthy and order myself a salad. However, it being mostly dark leafy greens, which I tend to find quite bitter, and my body isn't the best at digesting them. I chased them with my giant glass of wine and was pretty happy.

We ended up heading out in a limo for a booze cruise. This cruise included jell-o shots and malibu soaked gummy bears. Here's a couple things they should have known about me.

1) I hate jello
2) I hate malibu

I'll admit, I had some of the jello shots. They mostly made me feel like when you have the flu, with a little bit of vodka. The gummy bears didn't go anywhere near me. So gross.

Luckily there was quite a bit of dancing involved!
boom.

Heres the shot from my fitbit. Look at all those steps! And them active minutes!,

However, since I rarely drink, I'll admit I was feeling a little rough this morning. I should have probably had some water before bed. But I got up and did the mom thing. Started chugging my water. I even went for a treadmill run today! I feel like thats a gain. Before, I usually would have just napped while my kid napped, but today I decided to sweat. I drank water and had healthy snacks. I made a delicious dinner of turkey burgers, and a selection of leftover sides. The pasta salad I made originally called for mayo but I switched that out for just plain yogurt. I cut up more cucumbers than pasta, and sprinkled a healthy dose of dill. It was so yummy! Even the kid enjoyed it!

But the real star was this burger. I usually hate how dry turkey burgers can be. However, these ones turned out super juicy and delicious.

1lb turkey
1/4-1/2 cup of diced onions
1 clove minced garlic
shake of panko
egg whites
parsley

It was so good! I have left overs luckily to enjoy the rest of the week.
Aww yeah giant turkey burger. 
I'm glad I didn't just order pizza, or eat the frozen pizza in the freezer. I'm glad I made the choice to eat healthy. Hopefully this is a step in the right direction.


This makes me hungry. 

I'm still going to admit that snacking at night is still killing me. I am sitting here and just wanting to eat everything. I hate that feeling. I wish there was something that was filling and delicious that wasn't terrible to eat before bed. Any one have any thoughts! Leave a comment and let me know!

-Bailey

Friday, June 17, 2016

Day 14-16: Scared as Shit

Hopefully I can get back to remembering/not being lazy and blog at night.

I have been struggling lately. A lot.

I go back to work full time on Tuesday. I'm excited to start this new chapter, but so scared of the unknown. I am very much a creature of habit and have a nice cushy routine that I have literally been on for almost 2 years. And for that to change, I'm nervous.

I'm nervous about leaving my kid.

I'm nervous about working full time.

I'm nervous about not reaching my potential.

I know I have support, but sometimes, I feel like I'm the only one who just keeps looking at myself and saying "you can do this". I know my husband is supportive and he's totally okay with this. I know I'm not the first mom in the history of the world who went back to work. But I feel like I'm the only mom who's making the choice to work. I don't have to. I don't need to work full time. I don't need to work even part time. I don't need to work. I want to work. I'm tired of only talking to my kid or kids at work. I rarely get to chat with friends unless our kids are involved.

I want to talk to people. Talk to people about things other than tantrums, cheese strings, and poop.

I'm hoping that once I'm totally into the routine it will be easier. I know it's never going to be totally easy. It's going to suck going from taking my kid wherever I want during business hours to having to do stuff on the weekends like the rest of the population.

I'm so nervous. Hopefully I made the right choice.

-Bailey

ps. I know there isn't anything in here about my diet, but I'm hoping you can surmise that it hasn't been great and I've gotten on and off this bandwagon so much that I have bruises.


Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Days 9-13: Sushi, Crab Enchiladas and Getting Lost in the Ladies Changeroom

Whoa. It's been awhile since I've been on here. I mean, almost a week right? Well today is day 14. I still feel like I'm struggling. I don't know what my issue is. But lets get back to last week.

After my amazing lettuce burger (still drooling over it) I headed out to Saskatoon with my sis for a family thing. Well, the evening we arrived, we were treated to a delicious all you can eat sushi dinner. Now, I can eat A LOT of sushi. It's so good. Wasabi?! YES PLEASE! I ate and ate and ate. I was so happy I wore stretchy pants. Otherwise, I think I may have exploded like an overstuffed sausage.

I managed to hit up the Saskatoon Goodlife Fitness on Saturday morning and may I just say, this place is GIANT. I actually got lost in the ladies changing area. I mean, there was a hallway I thought may have been another exit, and it turns out it's just the door to the janitorial supplies. Oops.

Once I managed to find my way out, I had a pretty awesome chest and tricep day. Although I was feeling kind of weak by my second and third sets of skull crushers, I think it went pretty decently.

That afternoon, I devoured a GIANT crab enchilada. Thanks Amigos! So delicious. I mean, this thing was the size of a new born child and I ordered 2. I ate so much food. Then sat in a car for 5 hours. Followed by a disappointing salad from Sobeys. It was a day.

Gym days have been pretty typical lately. Nothing new there. I have been managing to eat what I feel is complete and udder crap. Candy and chippies. I try so hard to be strong when my man is home from work. But I struggle to watch him eat a pint of ice cream and not have a little sumthin' sum thin' of my own. Ugh. As I do every wednesday, I say to myself, I will do better next week.

Today hasn't been terrible so far. I stuffed a giant bagel and cream cheese in my mouth while driving the car because I read the schedule wrong and was supposed to work. Then sushi and being force fed goldfish crackers by my kid. I'm hoping for some BBQ chicken and roasted brussel sprouts tonight. I feel like I just need healthy food even though my body is like "you want chicken nuggets and friiiiiies. YOU NEED CHICKEN NUGGETS AND FRIES".

Shut up body. You'll like what I give you.

-Bailey

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Day 8: Lettuce Wrapped Burgers and One Singular Cheese Stick

Today was another fairly decent day. One minor slip up, but more on that later.

I slept in which is a nice treat. Hit up the gym for back and biceps day. Close grip lat pull downs, straight arm pull downs, chin ups and some concentration curls, and finally bicep curls. It was a good day!

I managed to eat fairly decently as well. Additional left over frittata and hash browns, sushi, and then, the greatest thing ever THE WEDGIE BURGER from Red Robin. Seriously so good.



This burger is is only 450 calories (if you get the side salad obviously). It really hits the spot when you want a burger, but also don't want to eat 1200 calories in just one meal. It's so good. 

After I had my victorious dinner, I had some candy. I'm feeling a little bit like I failed. After I ate it, I couldn't help but feel gross. Whether it be from the candy, or because I ate it like it was going out of style, I'm not sure. But I feel kind of like ralphing. 

It wasn't even the kind of candy I wanted. #doubledisappointment

I'm hoping to actually hit the gym this weekend too. Now for my evening protein drink and some tv. 

-Bailey




Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Day 7: My Legs, My Back, My Protein, and My Carbs

Day 7: One week Later...

Today was an awesome leg day at the gym. Cranked out quite a few squats at 75lbs. Going to hopefully attempt 85lbs next week!

Tried a new exercise today too. Cable pull throughs. I was hoping to target my hamstrings, which is always a fun thing to do, but it turns out this is for a good ol booty! I think I was doing it wrong as I mostly felt awkward and that I was going to give myself a giant crotch wedgie...I'm planning to attempt it again hopefully, and maybe get my form a little better.

Not what I looked like while doing this.

A friend of mine wanted to try holding a back extension for 3 minutes today, and I figured, I can do that. Well about 30 seconds in, I was wondering what the hell I just agreed to. It was awful. Man oh man, that is killer. I feel like my butt is going to be hella sore this weekend.

It wasn't as stressful a day as there have been in the past week, but there was a lot of errand doing. And errand doing always results in crappy lunch choices. Today after some googling (while waiting in the parking lot of Rona) I found that McDonalds has a new chicken sandwich called the 12. It has only 400 calories for the sandwich if you get the grilled one. I got that one today, with no sauce, but I can't find the nutritional info for no sauce on it. I'm considering it minus 100 calories since that's how much McChicken sauce is, a whole mcdonalds sandwich for 300 cals, isn't half bad. And the sandwich wasn't terrible either.

I had a snack of some pretzel sticks and whipped peanut butter, and a babybel cheese (yum!). I ended up enjoying some pizza tonight with my folks before they head out of town tomorrow. PS. The pizza was delicious. I ain't even sorry.

Tomorrow will be cardio time at the gym, with a little back and biceps. I'm hoping that I'll be able to check out the Goodlife in Saskatoon this weekend if I have some time. Always enjoy checking out other facilities.

My snack tonight will be some protein and some glutamine. Because I'm lazy and that's what I made.

-Bailey

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Day 6: More of the Same

Tuesday. Just another name for Mondays. Ugh. I tell ya, today was a day.

I had to work this morning which, while it's awesome and I love the people I work with, cuts into my day in a major way. I basically had to work when I'd usually be working out. So today, there was no workout. Diet was kind of all over the place too. Tim Hortons double double, bagel, timbits, peanut butter and jelly sandwich (mine and half of Clara's), then I basically laid in bed feeling tired and getting annoyed at the knot in my shoulder. Supper was chicken parmesan with my parents and far too much ravioli and fro-yo bars.

I wish I had the conviction to stay on diet plan when it comes to stressful days. I didn't cave and buy something like a chocolate bar or chips, which is where I'd usually go, so I guess I made some steps in the right direction.

I hate stressful days when I can't squat heavy or press heavy to get rid of that general feeling of icky-ness. I want to sit and eat all my feelings. I'm just feeling like I could sleep for 90 days and still not feel rested. It's just frustrating right now.

Time for a snack. (cottage cheese with cocoa and a packet of stevia.)

-Bailey

Monday, June 6, 2016

Day 3,4,5: The Wine-ening

Happy Monday!

I had a crazy weekend of not working out, and basically eating not great food. But more on that later.

My best bud came up from Calgary this weekend for a visit, some baby hangs, and to pick up their appliances which were being stored in my garage. Usually when my bud and I hang, we eat EVERYTHING. And I'm talking, everything. Chips, wheels of brie, loaves of french bread, and wine...oh the wine we consume.

This weekend, we actually didn't eat everything. I mean, we had hot dogs, copious amounts of "salad" (which was basically noodles, cheese and mayonnaise...and this was me eating the most of this salad). We also only drank 2 bottles of wine. One of which we shared! So look at us. Baby steps.

After all that gluttony on the saturday, I made a nice healthy "everything in the fridge" frittata and some home made hash browns.


The frittata had, spinach, corn, black beans, cherry tomatoes, mozzarella cheese and parmesan on top. I baked it for like 20ish mins (?) maybe longer...? Until it was puffy. Let it rest about 10 mins, then cut a giant chunk, covered it in hot sauce and was on my way. The hash browns were just panfried in a little butter and sunflower oil with original spice salt free Mrs. Dash. So good. The other pile is obviously just cottage cheese. 

Also this weekend, I went for it and bought some shorts!

Having tried on last years shorts and discovering they were GIGANTIC back in March, I decided to head out for some new ones. The other pair I got were 2 sizes smaller than last years!! 

Monday was your standard chest, shoulder, tricep day. Wasn't really feeling it all together. Was kinda just farting my way through it. I guess everyone has those days. I feel like I really need to switch up my chest days and feel the burn. Also on shoulders...and triceps... #bingoarms

On Mondays, we do Zumba!


I'm actually a level 1 Zumba instructor. My sister wanted to check it out in October and well, we both fell in love. I could zumba everyday. It's my fave cardio based activity. The first time I ever did it, I wore my old heart rate monitor and burned something like 560 calories in an hour DANCING. Just dancing. 

It was rush around like crazy for the rest of the afternoon, so all I could muster this evening was mini pizzas for me and the kid. 

Pesto sauce, shrimps and cheese. Nothing too crazy. Bedtime snack tonight is pineapple with cottage cheese and flax, and a protein shake. Fingers crossed I don't wake up at 3am ready to eat everything.

-Bailey









Friday, June 3, 2016

Day Two: Vega Bars and core work

Day 2!

Well, today started out really well. Actually, the whole day was pretty darn awesome. A trip to Costco that was under $200 and included egg whites, eggs, and a pork tenderloin.

After Costco, the kid and I headed to the gym for my other personal fave day: Back and Biceps. Seriously, is there anything better than back day!?

After my workout, I love hitting the Goodlife Fitness Group Fitness class CXWorx. One day, I will make it through that whole class without taking the modification to make it easier. That class kills my core.

Todays food was also not bad. More porridge, a buffalo chicken burrito bowl, a few snacks with my kiddo, then some bbq chicken and veggies for supper. Not a total crap day.

However, now (evening) is the time I get ravenous. I just want to eat all the food. It's a tragedy.

This weekend will kinda be a wash, I have company in town. I'll hopefully be able to keep my food on track. I usually struggle with that. Especially when my friend is in town. Wine, cheese and chips are a usual. This weekend, we are both hoping to eat on track.

I'll be back in the gym next week.

-Bailey

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Day One: A Lesson in Stress and Carbs

Well today I wanted to start my fitness challenge, and it was just that...a challenge.

It started out okay. Kid slept in, I woke up feeling marginally rested. Did my measurements off an old set of measurements I found in my phone and lost an inch on my waist since March (hooray!)

Then it all went to shit.

My kid is almost 2. I don't think I need to go into more detail, but there is a lot of stress, a lot of tantrums, and I like to hide and eat those feelings. It also doesn't help that my spouse works out of town, so on these days where there have been more tears than smiles, I don't get a break. It's all me baby.

Stress has always been a big reason for many people to over eat (hello three servings of pasta tonight....). I wish I knew a way to combat that.

But before my day took a crazy turn, I managed to get in some measurements, and sad mirror selfies in my undies.


Gah, nothing like seeing pictures in your undies to be like ugh.



My current measurements aren't terrible I think. Considering where I have come from. 

Bust: 39.5"
Waist: 34"
I measured that weird zone below my belly button: 39.5"
Hips: 44.5"

I didn't think my breakfast was too terrible either. A nice bowl of porridge (since I was out of eggs...) that had Walden Farms pancake syrup, stevia, cinnamon and berries on it, a nice cup of coffee. My Progressives veggiegreens and my selection of vitamins. 






After breakfast, I headed to the gym for a well needed leg day. I'm that person who loves leg day. Today I added 10lbs to my squat (yay!), followed that with some sumo squats, then I met up with a friend for some donkey kicks on the cable machine, and a little leg press and some calf raises. I finished off with a treadmill incline walk, and BCAA's.

I managed to stuff a bagel and ham into my mouth for lunch, and a giant bowl of popcorn with my kid, then way too much pasta for supper. Right now I'm feeling heavy and gross. 

Here's to tomorrow! Hopefully, I'll go get some eggs. 

_bailey 


Wednesday, June 1, 2016

June Challenge Day 1

Today I had a plan.

In order to motivate prospective clients, I figured, I should see what kind of changes I can make in just one month of eating healthy(ish) and exercising regularly.

Then I woke up this morning with a migraine.

Fast forward all day to right this second, where I am still dealing with the remains of the headache, and eating chocolate in my bed. No interest in weigh ins, measurements, and taking pictures of the food I consume in a day. No selfies in the gym. Basically I was in my pyjamas until 4pm. And even then, it was a challenge to get out of them.

Shit like this happens. Tomorrow, I will try again. Tomorrow is always another day.


I will wake up and start my day, hopefully crush a long needed leg day, have a healthy lunch and do my stuff. 

Hopefully a good night of sleep and advil will help kill this migraine.

-Bailey

Hi!

Hello!

My name is Bailey. A few years ago, you could have found me over at missbeevintage.com. I lived (or attempted to live) a fairly 'vintage' type lifestyle.

Fast forward a few years, add a husband, 2 kitties, and a baby into the mix and well, the vintage thing kinda fell by the wayside.

When my baby was born, I went through the baby blues like any new mom would (yes, even celebrities go through it, they can just afford full time help). When you birth that baby, and all that responsibility of caring for this new elephant in the room, hormones are all over the map.

Throw in a couple other crazy life altering things, and well, that's the perfect storm of postpartum depression.

For me, a new baby, a husband who works out of town, and a move to a new house, (coupled with problems breastfeeding and the lack of friggin' sleep) made me not who I was.

I struggled. At my darkest time, I thought the easiest thing to do would be to put myself and my sweet baby in the car and just basically go to sleep. Looking back, I should have reached out. I should have called for help. I should have begged for help. However, I pressed it down for another couple months. Until one day, while wandering the mall, because what else do new moms do, I ended up at the Goodlife Fitness in the Sherwood Park Mall. Basically, just wanted to check it out. I was a member of another gym, but that gym wasn't attached to a Target.

With the help of my now boss, Mimi, and the amazing staff at Goodlife, I got myself back on track. I went to the gym upwards of 6 times a week. I got an hour to myself to just be Bailey. Not someones mom, not someones wife. Just me. I believe this saved me and most importantly, saved my baby.

I have since decided to pursue a career in personal training. I want to help moms who are lost and confused. I want to help moms who are either dealing with postpartum depression, or have dealt with it in the past. I want to help you feel great and in turn, provide a positive example for your kids. I am not a doctor. I'm not a therapist, but I am a mom. A mom who turned her life around with exercise.

Join me, and we can do great things!

See you in the weight room,
Bailey